REVIEWS

BACKBONE

EggNut's Backbone describes itself as a "post-noir roleplaying detective adventure". Set in an alternate, dystopian version of Vancouver, Canada, populated by anthropomorphic animals, we take on the role of raccoon private investigator Howard Lotor.

Before the review starts, I want to mention the existence of a very serious bug that reset my progress while I had completed about 80% of the game. Backbone doesn't have a normal save system, which I find unacceptable in an adventure (more or less) game anyway, but only autosave - there aren't even different save slots. So there is a bug that just makes the save disappear and based on community discussions it most often occurs at the beginning of Act IV, as it happened to me. The developers are aware of it, but so far no patch has been released. If someone decides to play Backbone, it's a good idea to keep a regular manual backup of the save, which can be found in the c:\users\username\AppData\local\Detective folder.

What begins as a search for an errant husband, a routine case for any private detective, soon takes an unexpected turn. Almost out of nowhere, Howard finds himself embroiled in a corruption case that reaches to the highest echelons of the political elite, and discovers secrets capable of blowing up the foundations of the society in which he lives.

Vancouver by night. Well, sort of Vancouver.

In terms of presentation, despite a significant shortcoming that will be mentioned later, it's the strongest facet of Backbone. Visually, we have one of the most well thought out and unique cases of pixel art we've seen to date. Combined with modern lighting and shading effects, and excellent use of perspective, they create locations with a sense of depth unexpected for a 2D pixel art game - and this, despite the fact that the movement is done in a strict 2D plane.

Special mention should be made of the cutscenes. They are barely animated, but the distinct, hazy palette works perfectly to create a noir atmosphere. The soundtrack is on the same high level, and will surely feature on lists of the year's best. Melodies, mostly melancholic, fit perfectly with and at the same time elevate the experience of the game.

The subtle charm of the bourgeoisie.

Very negative, however, is the complete absence of voice-over. Of course, one could reasonably wonder why I am making it an issue for Backbone, a shortcoming that I didn't even mention about Darkside Detective - A Fumble in the Dark. The answer is that in the noir genre to which Backbone belongs, a protagonist's voice cracked by cigarettes and booze, a voice that teeters between extreme cynicism and hopeless romanticism, is a structural element of the genre itself. And here it is missing.

On the gameplay front, it's not all rosy. In the opening chapter of Backbone, there are different methods of approaching targets, there's a stealth mechanic, and there's a fairly tricky puzzle that stumped me for a while. One of the main problems with Backbone, is that after completing the Prologue, all of this disappears, with the gameplay being overly simplified. There's even talk of a bait and switch, since the Prologue has been released separately for almost two years as a demo, and includes mechanics that are absent in the rest of the game.

Renee will save our bacon in a time of need, but can we really trust her?

In the end, after the developers' grandiose plans about a "roleplaying detective adventure" and "a modern take on the classic point-and-click adventure, featuring stealth, exploration and elaborate dialogues inspired by old school CRPGs", and despite the expectations created by Backbone's Prologue/demo, this is a game with such simplistic gameplay from Act 2 onwards that straddles the line between narrative game and Visual Novel.

So, having understood that the narrative is the focus of Backbone, all that is left is to examine the story of the game itself. Unfortunately, there are serious problems here too.

At Ragequit we have long highlighted the danger bears pose to society as a whole.

The first half of the game is a detective mystery that keeps the player's interest, although the depiction of the moral decline of the corrupt elite is so grotesque that it becomes graphic. As I was playing Backbone, by the time I reached the end of Act 3 I had made some notes of script points that I considered negative, such as the fact that while we are given control of Howard in a moment of reflection, ultimately the protagonist's predetermined internal monologue precludes us from taking some perfectly reasonable actions, such as alerting the police when we discover a gruesome crime. Why even give the illusion of choice?

Mice do not believe the fairy tales told by gorillas.

I had a couple more similar observations, but ultimately with the conclusion of Act 3 and the start of Act 4, it turns out that so much detail analysis doesn't make much sense. That's because from that point on, the game script makes a turn in degrees that can't be measured in Euclidean geometry, and then performs a triple Axel and double tolup and dives into the void. Many of the threads of the original plot are left untied, the whole Artifact situation makes little to no sense, Howard's questions as to why this is all happening are met with a "you don't need to know", and it's a distinctly negative impression that the very serious issue of gender violence is clumsily brought up in an attempt to absolve morally atrocious killers.

From the end of the adventure.

What remains then? A game that made a lot of promises already from its kickstarter campaign, kept the enthusiasm of the audience with its demo, but in the end manages to stand out only in the audiovisual field.

RATING - 65%

65%

Excellent visuals and a great soundtrack. But in terms of gameplay it doesn't deliver what it promises, while the story, although it starts with all the makings of something at least decent, loses its steam completely from the middle onwards.

Nikolaos Daniilidis

Great Old One, hardware enthusiast, game collector, man of culture.
Joined
Dec 1, 2012
Messages
6,222
δε διαθέτει κανονική save ρουτίνα.. αλλά μόνο autosave – δεν υπάρχουν καν διαφορετικά save slots

Aλήτες απλά, επί Πασόκ Τσουρινάκη ούτε θα τολμούσαν να σκεφτούν το ρηλής με κάτι τέτοια.


ΕDIT: Mη με βάλεις στη κλήρωση.
 

Borracho

Ancient Red Dragon
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
11,455
Μεγάλο κρίμα, είχα λατρέψει πραγματικά το demo και το αγόρασα Day 1, έτοιμος για σκληρά μεράκια. Η απογοήτευση ήταν μεγάλη και το refund έσωσε την παρτίδα. Όπως ακριβώς τα γράφεις είναι. Χαώδης διαφορά μεταξύ demo και κανονικού παιχνιδιού. Κατά μια έννοια, το Backbone, είναι η πεμπτουσία του noir. Άλλα σου τάζουν κι άλλα σου πετάνε ενώ βυθίζεσαι στη λάσπη.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
7,939
όχι ρε, πλάκα κάνεις; το περίμενα με αγωνία για να πάρω την νεο-νοιρ τζούρα που δεν μου βγάζει το blacksad.
 

manofsorrows

Gelatinous Cube
Joined
Feb 21, 2013
Messages
56
Hater mode on: Τι κοινό έχουν τα Blacksad και Βackbone; Ζωόμορφους πρωταγωνιστές σε noir περιβάλλον. Χαίρομαι που πάτωσαν αμφότερα για να σταματήσει αυτό το αστείο και να μην γίνει trend...
 

Borracho

Ancient Red Dragon
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
11,455
Προσωπικά, χωρίς να τρέφω καμία ιδιαίτερη συμπάθεια για τους ζωομορφικούς πρωταγωνιστές, δεν με πειράζει η αισθητική που θα υιοθετήσει ένα παιχνίδι, αρκεί να είναι άρτιο στους καθοριστικούς του τομείς. Το Chicken Police για παράδειγμα, ήταν ένα καθαρό διαμάντι ανδροπρέπειας, με το 'περίεργο' εικαστικό του, να καταφέρνει να του χαρίζει μοναδική ταυτότητα.

Τώρα ασυνάρτητα κουνάβια να προσπαθούν να πείσουν για το brony ποιόν των δημιουργών, όχι ευχαριστώ, δεν θα πάρω.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
7,939
Δεν είμαι σίγουρος γιατί σε ενοχλεί σε βαθμό που να το βάλεις στα πράγματα που μισείς, αλλά εγώ το βρήκα υπέροχο στο Blacksad το ότι οι ζωόμορφοι χαρακτήρες ανταποκρίνονται στον χαρακτήρα του κάθε ένα και μου δημιουργεί ενδιαφέρουσα συναισθήματα κάθε φορά που συναντάμε κάποιον νέο χαρακτήρα, αφού με προϊδεάζει για το τι κουμάσι είναι και με βάζει στο τριπάκι να αναρωτηθώ. Κάτι που δεν μπορεί να κάνει μια ανθρώπινη φιγούρα.

Επίσης δεν πέταξαν απλά ένα κεφάλι σκύλου σε ένα σώμα, αλλά έχει γίνει προσπάθεια να αποδοθεί η ανατομία με τα χαρακτηριστά ενός υποθετικού όντος χωρίς να βλέπουμε αηδίες σαν εκείνο εκεί με τις γάτες που έκαναν ταινία or something. O Juanjo Guarnido έχει πραγματικά βάλει κάτω το ερώτημα, "αν τα ζώα είχαν εξελιχθεί σε δίποδα ανθρωποειδή, πως θα ήταν;" και πιστεύω ότι έχει κάνει αρκετά καλή δουλειά ώστε να είναι αποδεκτό το αποτέλεσμα χωρίς να αγγίζει τα όρια του παραλόγου.
 

manofsorrows

Gelatinous Cube
Joined
Feb 21, 2013
Messages
56
Προσωπικό κόλλημα αισθητικής. Με κάνει να νιώθω άβολα, ίσως υποβόσκει κάποια υποσυνείδητη φοβία, δεν ξέρω. Και με το Chicken Police είχα θέμα. Αν θυμάμαι καλά είχα κάνει παρόμοιο σχόλιο κι εκεί. Στο Hotline Μiami να το καταπιώ γιατί είναι μάσκες. Θα μου πείτε οι χαρακτήρες της Disney πχ δεν είναι το ίδιο; Όχι εκεί δεν με πειράζει. Είναι άλλη φάση, πιο αθώα και πιο παιδική. Ή ίσως νιώθω ότι "μαγαρίζεται" το noir είδος έχοντας συνηθίσει σε παιχνιδάρες όπως τα Tex Murphy, Black Dahlia, ακόμα και το Discworld Noir ή το Grim Fandango που έχoυν παρδαλούς χαρακτήρες. Αnyway... Γούστα είναι αυτά.
 

Borracho

Ancient Red Dragon
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
11,455
Έχω κι εγώ μια προκατάληψη κατά των furries, αλλά μπορώ να τα ανεχτώ αν το σύνολο είναι πένα. Οι παραπομπές τους σε κουλτούρες άνιμε αυνανιστών και λοιπών ανθυπονορμάλ, είναι που με ξενερώνουν περισσότερο.
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2012
Messages
6,222
Όταν λες λοιπών ανθυπονορμάλ, εννοείς κάτι σαν τους παρακάτω να φανταστώ.

 

maladroid

Blackguard
Joined
Nov 27, 2012
Messages
1,167
Χωρίς να είμαι furry (με τη σεξουαλική διάσταση του (χ)όρου) σχεδόν πάντα απολαμβάνω καρτούν/κόμιξ/παιχνίδια με ανθρωπόμορφα ζώα,
Δώσε μου Robin Hood (αυτόν της Disney, με την αλεπού), BoJack Horseman, Night In The Woods, Blacksad, Maus ή Zootopia και πάρε μου την ψυχή. Ορισμένα, μάλιστα, αξιοποιούν τη διττή φύση των χαρακτήρων για κοινωνικοπολιτικό σχόλιο ή gags, απογειώνοντας το αποτέλεσμα (το ΒοJack π.χ. το έκανε συνέχεια).

Τώρα το Backbone δεν νομίζω να το απολαύσω με βάση αυτά που διαβάζω, αλλά δεν μπορώ να πω ότι επλήσσομαι ιδιαίτερα γιατί και το Night Call των ίδιων δημιουργών έπασχε από δημιουργική ασάφεια και γενικότερο pretentiousness τυλιγμένο σε noir μανδύα.
 
Last edited:

Borracho

Ancient Red Dragon
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
11,455
Τουλάχιστον το Night Call ήταν αυτό που σου πούλαγε το ντέμο του, ελάχιστο γκέημπλεϊ, φούλ δηθενιά, ποιοτική εμπειρία μεταμεσονύκτιου ταρίφα. Το Backbone ήταν ύπουλο γιατί παρέδωσε ένα φοβερό ντέμο και μετά τράβηξε το χαλί κάτω από τα πόδια των θυμάτων παικτών.
 

Sephir

Beyond Within
Staff member
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
4,956
Χωρίς να είμαι furry (με τη σεξουαλική διάσταση του (χ)όρου) σχεδόν πάντα απολαμβάνω καρτούν/κόμιξ/παιχνίδια με ανθρωπόμορφα ζώα,
Δώσε μου Robin Hood (αυτόν της Disney, με την αλεπού), BoJack Horseman, Night In The Woods, Blacksad, Maus ή Zootopia και πάρε μου την ψυχή. Ορισμένα, μάλιστα, αξιοποιούν τη διττή φύση των χαρακτήρων για κοινωνικοπολιτικό σχόλιο ή gags, απογειώνοντας το αποτέλεσμα (το ΒοJack π.χ. το έκανε συνέχεια).

Το Inherit the Earth το έχεις παίξει υποθέτω.
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2012
Messages
5,983
έπασχε από δημιουργική ασάφεια και γενικότερο pretentiousness τυλιγμένο σε noir μανδύα.

Pretentiousness? How dare you, pleb?

"Open letter from developers
Our dear community,

This is a love letter for each of you - those who waited for Backbone, who played it, who loved it, who hated it, who are yet to experience it, and everyone in between.

We are Alex and Nikita - two people out of the collective of individuals who worked on Backbone for close to 5 years. Backbone is a deeply personal project for us, and it encapsulates our lived experiences and common humanity. We knew what we wanted to say and we said it. We stand by it and we are proud of it. But now this game is yours. You decide what to do with it, what to think of it and how to feel about it. We could never truly know your heart and all the beautiful, intricate complexity of what makes you human. All we ever wanted to do is show a little mirror of our souls and hope that in it, you can recognize yours.

Art is subjective and we can’t dare to influence all the wonderful and valid feelings people are experiencing over the game. These feelings are strong and they are real. We read everything you say with starry eyes and just can’t believe how lucky we are that Backbone reached so many of you.

Don’t ask us about what it all meant - ask your own unknowable shining heart, sit with your feelings and truly feel them, talk to people. Do all the beautiful things you are moved to do when you encounter something that makes you feel. It’s why we made this game.

We are eternally grateful to have had the opportunity to say something that is honest, true, and vulnerable for us. We made the game we’ve always wanted to play. We feel less alone in the sea of uncaring humanity, because now we share it with you. Thank you.

Aleksandra Korabelnikova - co-founder, director, lead writer
Nikita Danshin - co-founder, game designer, composer

P.S: There is more to come for the world of Backbone and we can’t wait to share it with you. Stay tuned."
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
7,939
Pretentiousness? How dare you, pleb?

"Open letter from developers
Our dear community,

This is a love letter for each of you - those who waited for Backbone, who played it, who loved it, who hated it, who are yet to experience it, and everyone in between.

We are Alex and Nikita - two people out of the collective of individuals who worked on Backbone for close to 5 years. Backbone is a deeply personal project for us, and it encapsulates our lived experiences and common humanity. We knew what we wanted to say and we said it. We stand by it and we are proud of it. But now this game is yours. You decide what to do with it, what to think of it and how to feel about it. We could never truly know your heart and all the beautiful, intricate complexity of what makes you human. All we ever wanted to do is show a little mirror of our souls and hope that in it, you can recognize yours.

Art is subjective and we can’t dare to influence all the wonderful and valid feelings people are experiencing over the game. These feelings are strong and they are real. We read everything you say with starry eyes and just can’t believe how lucky we are that Backbone reached so many of you.

Don’t ask us about what it all meant - ask your own unknowable shining heart, sit with your feelings and truly feel them, talk to people. Do all the beautiful things you are moved to do when you encounter something that makes you feel. It’s why we made this game.

We are eternally grateful to have had the opportunity to say something that is honest, true, and vulnerable for us. We made the game we’ve always wanted to play. We feel less alone in the sea of uncaring humanity, because now we share it with you. Thank you.

Aleksandra Korabelnikova - co-founder, director, lead writer
Nikita Danshin - co-founder, game designer, composer

P.S: There is more to come for the world of Backbone and we can’t wait to share it with you. Stay tuned."
επίπεδο, "πέρνα το μπάφο στον επόμενο φίλος, ντουμανιασες"
 

maladroid

Blackguard
Joined
Nov 27, 2012
Messages
1,167
Τουλάχιστον το Night Call ήταν αυτό που σου πούλαγε το ντέμο του, ελάχιστο γκέημπλεϊ, φούλ δηθενιά, ποιοτική εμπειρία μεταμεσονύκτιου ταρίφα. Το Backbone ήταν ύπουλο γιατί παρέδωσε ένα φοβερό ντέμο και μετά τράβηξε το χαλί κάτω από τα πόδια των θυμάτων παικτών.
Δεν έπαιξα κανένα από τα δύο demo, οπότε δεν μπορώ να εκφέρω γνώμη ως προς αυτό.
Πάντως για μένα και το Night Call έπασχε από ξεκάθαρο bait-and-switch γιατί αρχικά πλασάρεται ως αστυνομική ιστορία με πασπαλισμένα mini-dramas χαρακτήρων (συμπεριλαμβανομένου του πρωταγωνιστή) και τελικά η υπόθεση του serial killer και τα ντέρτια του ταξιτζή είναι όχι μόνο τσαπατσούλικα αλλά κι εντελώς διακοσμητικά. Τον πρώτο (και τελευταίο) λόγο είχαν οι -αμφιβόλου ποιότητας- ιστορίες των επιβατών, που και παντελώς άσχετες με το υποτιθέμενο μυστήριο ήταν, και πολύ δήθεν στην παρουσίασή τους.
Είχε, πάντως, κάποιες μεμονωμένες βινιέτες που παρουσίαζαν ενδιαφέρον και φυσικά πολύ ατμοσφαιρικό εικαστικό.
 
Last edited:

Borracho

Ancient Red Dragon
Joined
Nov 26, 2012
Messages
11,455
Όπως το θυμάμαι, δεν υποτίθεται πως όλες οι ιστορίες θα είχαν σχέση με την εξιχνίαση του εγκλήματος. Ήταν μέρος της διασκέδασης να ξεχωρίσεις την ήρα από το στάρι. Τίμιο 'μικρό' ήταν, μου άφησε θετική εντύπωση, χωρίς να είναι και τίποτε το συγκλονιστικό. Αυτό που περίμενα, αυτό και πήρα.
 

Related Articles

Check Also
Close
Back to top button
en_USEnglish